GitHub: What happens after pushing

Pushing your commits to GitHub means they are now saved on github.com (which you can see also serves as a handy backup for your code in case anything goes wrong on your machine).

There you go:

Screen Shot 2021-12-18 at 12.52.15.png

There’s a lot on this page, but the first thing we’ll look at is little icon with a clock and a 1 number:

Screen Shot 2021-12-18 at 12.52.15.png

Click that, and you’ll have a view of all the commits made to this repository.

Screen Shot 2021-12-18 at 13.06.47.png

Over time, this view will have a long list of commits, and clicking the commit ID on the right will show the specific changes you made in each commit.

Screen Shot 2021-12-18 at 13.07.32.png

Lessons in this unit:

0: Introduction
1: GitHub issues
2: Social coding
3: Pull requests
4: Project management
5: Comparing changes
6: Webhooks and integrations
7: ▶︎ What happens after pushing
8: DEMO Create a GitHub account
9: DEMO Using GitHub desktop
10: DEMO Using Git in VS Code
Want to learn more? Check out our courses